SPECIAL OFFER

L’île

L’île aux épices vous souhaite la bienvenue dans une profusion de couleurs et de fleurs et vous promet des vacances inoubliables.

L’HISTOIRE DE SPETSES

L’île de Spetses s’est brillamment illustrée durant la guerre d’Indépendance contre le joug turc. Laskarina Bouboulina, figure légendaire qui consacra toute sa fortune à la cause ainsi que de nombreux autres valeureux combattants de l’île conduisirent la Grèce avec leurs compatriotes à la victoire de la révolution de 1821.

Au début du 20e siècle, l’île de Spetses devint le centre de villégiature attitré des rois et personnalités politiques éminentes. Ils se retrouvaient à l’hôtel historique Posseidonio, construit par le bienfaiteur de l’île, Sotirios Anargyros.

L’art de la construction navale se poursuit de nos jours, transmis de père en fils. Les chantiers navals de l’île, d’où émane l’odeur caractéristique de goudron et de peinture fraîche, sont l’occasion d’une visite d’intérêt historique.

Promenez-vous à travers les ruelles étroites du village et admirez les sols pavés de galets ronds, « votsaloto », réalisés par les artisans locaux.

MUSEES A SPETSES

Visitez les deux musées de l’île (Le musée Bouboulina et le musée Chatzigianni Mexi) et apprenez-en davantage sur l’histoire et les traditions.

Musée Bouboulina

+30 22980 72994

10:30 – 18:30 (en semaine) / 9:30 – 20:30 (week-ends)

Musée Chatzigianni Mexi

+30 22980 72994

8:00 – 14:00 (fermé le lundi)

SPECIAL OFFER

The Island

Welcome to the Pine island of Spetses where an embrace of colors and flowers surround you and promise you an unforgettable vacation.

SPETSES HISTORY

The island is noted historically for its leading role in the Greek war of Independence from the Turks. Laskarina Bouboulina, the unique local heroine who gave all her fortune to the cause, together with many other revolutionaries from the island helped to lead to the eventual success of the 1821 revolution.

In the beginning of the 20th century, the island of Spetses developed into a cosmopolitan resort frequented by kings and leading political figures. Their meeting point was the historical Hotel Poseidonion, a donation from the island’s great benefactor Sotirios Anargyros.

The traditional art of wooden ship building still continues today, skills passing on from father to son. The island’s boat-yards smell of tar and fresh paint and are of historical interest as well as being a great sightseeing opportunity.

Walk along the narrow streets of the village and admire the masterpieces of the pebble art – works from folk craftsmen – in the streets, squares and courtyards.

SPETSES MUSEUMS

Visit the island’s 2 museums (Bouboulinas and Chatzigianni Mexi) and learn about its history and folklore tradition.

Bouboulina’s Museum

+30 22980 72416

10:30 a.m. – 18:30 p.m. (weekdays) / 9:30 a.m. to 20:30 p.m. (weekends)

Chatzigianni Mexi Museum

+30 22980 72994

8:00 a.m. to 14:00p.m. (daily except Mondays)